ethan

Day4

Day 1: Infinite scroll or pagination?

Joel Hooks has a post on writing publicly, part of which argues against pagination. Joel writes: “Look, nobody was flipping through pages on your blog to find anything anyway, so it's fine.” Fair enough. (Note that there is some swearing in Joel's post.)

I fully removed pagination from my personal website, which currently affects the “Categories,” “Links,” and “Tags” sections.

I used a Git commit message to describe the differences in page size.

As I included among the “advantages” of a single page per section (and as Joel mentions in the above post), removing pagination also “allows visitors to 'search' (with the 'find' function) for keywords across all titles.” Because it would require integrating a third-party search engine or scripting, however, I don't plan on adding a “proper” search function to my personal website.

The categories and tags sections should help interested visitors, while the site's GitLab repository allows for searching the content of posts.

Day 2: Canonical domain names

I switched to the root domain name as the canonical URL for my personal website.

That being said, the NearlyFreeSpeech.NET response to the question “Are you yes-www or no-www?” summarizes important considerations in choosing a canonical domain.

On the other hand, changing the canonical URL to the root domain fixed the “Error: No HSTS header” message I kept getting from the HSTS Preload List (The full message was “Response error: No HSTS header is present on the response.” even though it is set in the .htaccess file.)

Day 3: Tips for writing more (compiled)

On “less-performative” public writing and writing more, there are other great arguments in the above post by Joel Hooks. For example, Joel criticizes the “idea that everything you post has to be polished to perfection and ready to be consumed.” Joel also points out that, in publishing less “polished” work, we “don't lose the freedom to publish more polished work.”

I'm having fun writing posts as part of #100DaysToOffload! #Day4


You can visit my personal website at ethanyoo.com.